terewartists.blogg.se

Supertramp school original studio version
Supertramp school original studio version









While "Retrospectacle" is undoubtedly the finest Supertramp compilation to date, it is by no means definitive. Posted Tuesday, J| Review this album | Report (Review #126856) Tunes such as 'Lady' have all the exuberance that also characterised Queen, 10CC and even Zappa at their best. It opens with a bang the verses grab you by the lapels the chorus sounds cool sax, electric guitar AND percussion are irresistible and after the final chorus the song isn't even over: unperturbed, the band keep piling up vocal embellishments.

#SUPERTRAMP SCHOOL ORIGINAL STUDIO VERSION HOW TO#

And believe me, folks, I did! Never mind all those tearful lyrics, these guys certainly knew how to write and perform powerful pop songs.Īs any Supertramp freak (if they still exist!) will tell you, most of the material from the albums CRIME OF THE CENTURY and CRISIS? WHAT CRISIS? sounds inspired. So when this anthology became available at a bargain price, I wanted to find out if I'd still enjoy the old tunes. I stopped listening to Supertramp albums around 1977 (although I couldn't, of course, escape their music on the radio) and switched to (among others) the Talking Heads, whose lead vocalist could be just as sentimental as Mr Hodgson. Other than that, this seems as representative a selection of Supertramp's oeuvre as you're ever likely to get. I'm sure such words don't make much sense when you see them on a computer screen you just HAVE to hear them with the music! Anyway, it was a severe disappointment to me that 'Hide in your Shell' is NOT included in this anthology. Hoping, I'm dreamin', I'm prayin' / I know what you're thinkin' / See what you're seein' / Wanna touch you / Please let me near you / Can you hear what I'm saying? / Well I'm Well let me know you / I wanna feel you / I I can't remember how often I enjoyed that climactic moment when Hodgson goes: I was particularly enamoured of the song 'Hide in your Shell' (from CRIME OF THE CENTURY), which seemed to express my longing for unattainable love. The maudlin mood captured so well by their lead singer, Roger Hodgson, perfectly fitted my own. when I was sixteen, I was crazy about Supertramp for half a year or so. Just after CRISIS? WHAT CRISIS had come out, i.e.

supertramp school original studio version

Hate 'em, both that album's title track and 'The Logical Song' were catchy as hell. And deservedly so, in my opinion: love 'em or InĪn age of safety pins, skinny ties and black leather jackets, noe of this seemed cool.īut believe me, as soon as they'd released BREAKFAST IN AMERICA, Supertramp criedĪnd cried all the way to the bank. Kept asking questions (again and again and again) about the Meaning of Life. Who, in a whining voice somewhat similar to Jon Anderson's (at least to the unitiated),

supertramp school original studio version

With 'uncool' glasses they also had TWO keyboardists (much of the time) and a vocalist Not only did they have long hair, beards and a saxophone player When Supertramp finally made it big, they were abhorred by the critics, at least in theirĬountry of origin. Jesse Siebenberg / percussion Releases information Thornburg / trumpet, trombone, backing vocals

supertramp school original studio version

John Anthony Helliwell / saxophones, clarinets, woodwinds, keyboards, vocals Dave Winthrop / flute, saxophone, vocals Frank Farrell / bass, piano, accordion, harmony vocals Richard Palmer / electric guitar, acoustic guitar, balalaika, vocals Roger Hodgson / bass, flageolet, acoustic guitar, lead guitar, cello, piano, keyboards, vocals

supertramp school original studio version

Rick Davies / keyboards, organ, piano, electric piano, harmonica, vocals









Supertramp school original studio version